Boys Varsity/JV Cross Country, Girls Varsity/JV Cross Country · Christie, Edwards and Fisher selected to 2020 Indiana All-Star team in cross country

               Carmel seniors Annie Christie, Brooklyn Edwards, and Jacob Fisher have been named to the 2020 Indiana All-Star team for cross country.

                This honor squad is open to seniors only, and typically those selected run in the Mideast Cross Country Championships each year with top seniors from Indiana, Illinois, Michigan and Ohio. The meet began in 1987 and usually has been held on the third Saturday of November.

                This year’s Mideast Championships have been canceled because of COVID-19, but teams still were selected and the athletes will receive their All-Star gear.

               Annie Christie captured a third-place individual finish at this year’s IHSAA State Championship with a time of 18:19.  Edwards placed 25th in 19:04.4 to help the girls win the 2020 State Championship.  Jacob Fisher placed 21st in the boys state finals in 16:04.5 to help the Greyhounds secure their state runner-up finish.

                Here are the full 2020 Indiana All-Star teams for cross country as selected by the Indiana Association of Track and Cross Country Coaches.

                >> Boys: Spencer Carpenter, Westview; Will Clark, Fishers; Jacob Fisher, Carmel; Jesus Garcia, Zionsville; Lucas Guerra, Highland; Travis Hickner, Noblesville; Camden Marshall, Corydon Central; Trevor Nolan, Brownsburg; Austin Pulkowski, Columbus North; Paul Stamm, Cardinal Ritter; Andy Stohr, Columbus North; Braden Sweet, Southwood.

                >> Girls: Lexi Allen, Culver Academy; Ellen Baker, North Central; Lauren Bales, Norwell; Mackenzie Barnett, Columbus North; Sarah Busch, Fort Wayne Luers; Annie Christie, Carmel; Zoe Duffus, Carroll (Fort Wayne); Brooklyn Edwards, Carmel; Brenner Hanna, Greensburg; Ashlyn Minton, Carroll (Fort Wayne); Maria Mitchell, Hamilton Heights; Hailey Orosz, Wheeler.

                >> Coaches: Paige Brunner, Oak Hill; James Grounds, Northview; Melissa Hagerman, Pendleton Heights; Jason Rigsby, Carmel, Denise Rush, Lewis Cass.